Night of Heroes honors outstanding contributors

posted Thu, Sep 4, 2014 by Jon Buzby

The annual Night of Heroes celebrates the significant contributions of people and organizations both from the past year and over a longer period of time.

On Wednesday, Oct. 8, 15 honorees will be recognized at the event, sponsored by Dow and held at the Executive Banquet & Conference Center in Newark. The program begins at 6 p.m. followed by a reception at 7:30.

Featured award presenters include Special Olympics athletes Sasha Hudson, Jillian Mathews, Phil Saxon and Jonathan Touchet.

2014 Outstanding Award winners:

Hall of Fame: Marie McIntosh (read story)
Athlete: David Hill, Newark Dragons (read story)
Coach: Heather Kennedy, Wilmington Wizards
Volunteer: Joe Wood, Kent Wild Kats
Youth Leader: Jackie King, Appoquinimink High School
Unified Partner: Jody Wagner, MOT Tigers
Business: Hockessin Athletic Club
Program: Middletown High School (Matt Engelman, Erin Trzcinski)
Family: The Bates Family, MOT Tigers
Media: Glenn Rolfe, Sussex Post
Corporation: Fed Ex Ground
President's Award: Bill McDonald and George Forbes
Lifetime Achievement Award: Sharon Reusch